MSC Cruises expands operations as US borders reopen

MSC Cruises expands operations as US borders reopen

Ships will welcome non-US citizens on board from 8 November 2021

Following President Joe Biden’s announcement that eased US border restrictions will come into effect from 8 November 2021, MSC Cruises is preparing for its US return. 

MSC Cruises has three of its ships sailing from Florida for the season – the new flagship MSC Seashore, the MSC Meraviglia and the MSC Divina. The ships will welcome non-US citizens on board in November once the new rules are in place.


Speaking about the change in restrictions, MSC Cruises chief executive Gianni Onorato said: “We have eagerly awaited the United States administration’s date to reopen the country for fully vaccinated travellers from many parts of the world who love to cruise.

“The Caribbean is a popular destination for our guests from Europe and other regions of the world, particularly during the winter, and many more of them will now be able to fly to both Miami and Orlando to board our three ships that offer a range of different itineraries in the Caribbean, including Jamaica, Costa Rica, Mexico and our unique private island in the Bahamas, MSC Ocean Cay Marine Reserve.

MSC Seashore will be based in Miami from 20 November following her official naming ceremony at Ocean Cay. From 28 November, MSC Meraviglia will move to her new homeport of Port Canaveral, Orlando while MSC Divina will move to Miami offering a range of three-, seven- and 11-night cruises.

Closer to home, MSC Cruises has announced that the naming ceremony for the line’s new flagship, MSC Virtuosa, will take place in Dubai on 27 November 2021 at Mina Rashid (Port Rashid). Hosting the MSC Virtuosa naming ceremony endorses Dubai’s position as an international hub for cruise tourism. Following the naming ceremony, MSC Virtuosa will depart for its maiden Gulf voyage on 28 November with guests aboard from Dubai as the first of a series of seven-night cruises. Ports of call include Abu Dhabi and Sir Bani Yas in the UAE, Dammam in Saudi Arabia and Doha in Qatar, with additional embarkations at Abu Dhabi and Doha.

For more information, visit

Share article

View Comments